MONTGOMERY COUNTY CITIZENS' REVIEW PANEL WPS is honored to acknowledge the group of volunteers who work many hours outside the limelight to make the lives of foster children better, while evaluating agency practices and servicing as advocates for mental health services with this award. Accepting this award was Dr. Kristen Reese, Chair of the Citizens' Review Panel.

WPS is pleased to present its 2009 Meritorious Service award to Franklin Goldstein, ESQ, for his work in effectively serving the mentally ill and psychiatry interests with distinction for many years in the State of Maryland. Mr. Goldstein is an attorney with Semmes, Bowen & Semmes, LLC of Baltimore, MD, and serves as General Counsel and lobbyist to the Maryland Chapter of the Washington Psychiatric Society. In this capacity he provides general oversight services for legal matters and recommends legal specialists in any areas as required.

The Washington Psychiatric Society is honored d to confer its 2009 Wellstone Award to Mental Disability Rights International (MDRI). MDRI was established in 1993 by attorney Eric Rosenthal. Based in Washington DC, MDRI documents conditions, publishes reports on human rights enforcement, and promotes international oversight of the rights of people with mental disabilities. Drawing on the skills and experience of attorneys, mental health professionals, human rights advocates, people with mental disabilities and their family members, MDRI trains and supports advocates seeking legal and service system reform and assists governments to develop laws and policies to promote community integration and human rights enforcement for people with mental disabilities. Accepting this award was Eric Rosenthal, MDRI Founder and Executive Director.

The Washington Psychiatric Society is pleased to confer its 2009 Psychiatrist of the Year Award to Luther D. Robinson, M.D.,(1922-2009) posthumously. Dr. Robinson, MD., was the Associate Professor Emeritus in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Howard University in Washington D.C. until his retirement in 2008. He also held previous leadership positions including Director of Medial Student Education, Director of Residency Training and Acting Chairman.

Foremost, Dr. Robinson was a pioneer in the field of mental and deafness and established the deaf unit at St. Elizabeths Hospital, and worked with Gallaudet University to establish the Howard University Medical Student training program at the Gallaudet Mental Health Center. He has received numerous honors and awards including a Sc.D (Honorary) degree from Gallaudet University; the 2003 McDonald's Award for “Black History Makes of Today” in the field of Science; the 2002 William C. Menninger Memorial Award for Distinguished Contribution to the Science of Mental Health, American College of Physicians/American Society of Internal Medicine. He was a Distinguished Life Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association, with over 50 years of Service to the Association. Accepting this award on behalf of Dr. Robinson was his widow, Mrs. Betty B. Robinson.

The Washington Psychiatric Society is pleased to confer its 2009 Resident of the Year Award upon, DAVID ISAAC DRIVER. M.D., Psychiatry Resident at Georgetown University Hospital, Washington, D.C. David is honor for this work because he is an exemplary resident who gets involved with his work and produces excellent results. He is on the WPS Board of Directors, serves on the Ethics Committee and is secretary of the WPS District of Columbia Chapter.

Dr. Driver received his medical degree in 2008 from The University of Sint Eustatius School of Medicine, Sint Eustatius, Netherlands-Antilles; and has a B.S. degree from The University of Sint Eustatius School of Medical Science Medicine, Sint Eustatius, Netherlands-Antilles (2005) and a B.S. Biology from The University of Texas at San Antonio, Texas (2003). In addition, Dr. Driver served in the United States Army, both active duty and in the reserves, from 1995 to 2006 Distinguished Service Award WPS is honored to recognize Dr. Harold I. Eist, immediate “past president, with the Distinguished Service Award for his dedicated work as WPS President in 2008-09. He again revitalized the organization, implemented new approaches to increase membership. This is Dr. Eist's third term serving in this capacity for WPS as president. He is also a life member of the American Psychiatric Association, serves on its Board of Trustees, and isa past president. We also want to acknowledge and express our appreciations to his wife, Ann, for her invaluable support to WPS in its work.